Home » Meetings » NABPR Annual Meeting – 2005

The National Association of Baptist Professors of Religion is a community of teaching scholars. Most members teach at Baptist-affiliated schools, colleges, and seminaries, but members also hail from a wide range of institutions in the United States, Canada, and abroad, including church-related and state-supported schools.
Facebook | Twitter

Donate to NABPR

NABPR Annual Meeting – 2005

The National Association of Baptist Professors of Religion 

2005 Annual Meeting Minutes 

Loews Hotel – Commonwealth C 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 

November 19, 2005 

9:00 am – 11:30 am



The twenty-fifth annual meeting of the National Association of Baptist Professors

of Religion was called to order by President Mikeal Parsons.  After a greeting, the

President called the names of Roy Honeycutt, Stanley Grenz, Henleee Barnette, and

Harold Songer for a time of memory and reflection.


Danny Mynatt, Executive Secretary of NABPR, welcomed those in attendance and

distributed the results of the Annual Meeting Opinion Survey.  President Parsons

introduced Steve Harmon who presented the 2005 dedicated to James Leo Garrett, Jr.

entitled “Theology in Conversation.”


Curtis Freeman introduced M ikeal Parson for the delivery of “Luke Among

Baptists”–the Presidential Address.  “Luke 1:35 is, by far, the most cited verse in Baptist

confessions.”  Following the presentation, Freeman moderated a time of questions and



Freeman then introduced a panel for the discussion of the topic, “Stanley Grenz as

an Evangelical, Ecumenical, and Ecclesial Theologian.”  The presenters were Roger

Olson (George W. Truett Theological Seminary, Miroslav Volf (Yale Divinity School),

and Philip Thompson (North American Baptist Theological Seminary).


At 11:00, President Parson convened the annual business session.  After the

2004minutes were approved, Executive Secretary Danny Mynatt gave the Executive

Committee report.  Mynatt highlighted the General Fund statement and spoke of the

changes related to the Council of Societies for the Study of Religion–especially their

move from Valparaiso to Rice University.  The endowment funds were noted as

decreasing by 3.8% (after increasing by 17% the previous year).


After the report, Executive Secretary Mynatt read the names of nominations for

new members into the association.  After the new members were approved, Brad Chance

offered the nominations of Curtis Freeman for president and Pamela Scalise for vice

president of the Association for 2006.  There was no opposition and the nominees were

elected by unanimous vote.  Doug Weaver gave the report of the Editorial Board and

announced that the Editorial Board Nominating Committee had invited three new

members:  Pam Scalise (Fuller-Seattle); Lidija Novakovic (Bethel-St. Paul); and Ken





Roxburgh (Samford University).


Curtis Freeman presented the recommendation from the Ad Hoc Committee on the

NABPR Dissertation Scholarship.  The following portion of the recommendation was

read to the members at the annual meeting since it will involve an amendment to the

constitution.  Under Article VI. Officers and Committees add:


Section F.  Dissertation Scholarship Committee.  The Dissertation

Scholarship Committee of the NABPR shall consist of three members who

are nominated by the NABPR Nominating Committee and elected by the

NABPR membership.  The Committee shall announce the scholarship

recipient(s) at the NABPR annual meeting.


Following announcements about time changes and other gatherings, the annual

meeting was adjourned at 11:24 am.


With collegiality,



Larry McGraw

Logsdon School of Theology

Hardin-Simmons University